Things You Should Learn…ASAP

Pink coats

Source

As I grow older and experience more and more of adulthood, I’m confronted with the fact that there is a whole world out there that I am unaware of. I’m also confronted with the fact that there are other adults (some much older than I am) who are also unaware of these things. In most cases, I’m sympathetic to the ignorance because I am experiencing it as well. I’ve also realized that there are habits, seemingly small, that I can practice that position me for success. These habits don’t just affect physical things, they teach you the value of discipline and hard work. I have compiled a list of a combination of these things. This is by no means an exhaustive list, they aren’t even the top 10 most important. Just 5 of the many things EVERYONE needs to know….like yesterday!

How to pray…ALWAYS

I believe that prayer is the single most important things in life. Pray always and about everything. As a Christian, I incorporate this discipline into my life on a daily basis. It not only helps me focus on what is most important,  stay connected to Jesus, conditions my spirit to commune with God throughout the day, and so much more. Focus on the Family has a great resource if you’d like to learn more about prayer.

How to budget

Things you need to know

Source

I believe it was Lil’ Kim, the original Queen Bee (yes there was one before Beyonce) who said “Its the key to life. Money, power respect.” Though she lied (sorry money, power or respect is NOT the key to life), she still presented a fairly good point. Money is important. We use it to eat, sleep and live. But what’s more important is how you handle that money. I’ve learned that it is not the amount of money you have, but the way you manage. If you suck at managing $5, you’ll suck at managing $1M (sorry if they lied to you again, more money doesn’t erase financial woes). That is why it is important to learn how to budget. Know how much money you have coming in and how much you have going out every month. Learn what you can and cannot afford. Don’t buy things you cannot afford. Learn to save, with goals and puporses (otherwise you are just hoarding money that you will blow later, which is still not good money management). Learn to give. Get rid of debt. Learn to never be in debt again (this goes back to what you can and cannot afford). And learn to do it all with the money you make NOW! Not in 20 years. Not when you make your first million. But NOW! Trust me, you will NEVER see that million if you don’t learn to budget now. Don’t worry, I’m learning with you.

Check out some of my favorite resources:

Dave Ramsey Zero-Based Budget

Myliek Teele’s Budget Basics

How to cook

French onion soup

Source

Not trying to be judgmental in anyway, I promise, but adults who don’t know how to cook really blow my mind! Like, do you really make that much to eat out everyday? Well, I don’t! And neither do you. So learn to cook! It will save you tons of money (remember, we talked about saving money) and it will be much healthier for you. Plus you can be proud of your creation. If you need some help, check out the Audacity to Cook (an amazing cookbook created by a friend of mine) and join the 21 Day Challenge. He’ll have you cooking in less time than it takes you to say “food’s ready!”

How to exercise

Exercise

Another one I tend to slack off on, but I know that it is good for me. It will help you stay healthy, get your blood flowing and prevent some of those awful conditions (heart disease, diabetes, etc.). It can also be fun! Make sure to switch it up so that your body doesn’t get accustomed to one thing. If you are not into the whole gym scene (I get, I’m not either), there are some great videos that’ll show you how to get a work-out at home.

How to wake up early

Now this is one that I really struggle with. I am not a morning person by any means. However, waking up early will substantially help you throughout the day. There are only 24 hours in a day, don’t waste them sleeping in. You don’t want to sleep half the day away. Try waking up 1-2 hours earlier than you normally do. Spend the extra time praying, reading the Bible, exercising, getting work done. You can even cook breakfast and create your budget (like how I threw that in there). You’ll be surprised how productive you’ll be the rest of the day. Now, I won’t lie to you. The first couple of days you’ll feel like a zombie. After that, you should start to feel better and better.

be inspired.

Are you struggling to learn any of these? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

