50 Shades of Green

i don’t care who says it or what mirror i stand in front of, nothing is going to convince me that green is a flattering color on me.

 {Clockwise: images via Let’s Explode, I Wish I Had an Ocean, The Joy of Weddings, NYMag}

To be honest, its not a good color for anyone. Some people think it enhances the aesthetic of a look, but actually, it just highlights the insecurities on the inside. Its like a Venn Diagram that forces comparison between one girl and the next, and of course, one will feel like she never measures up. It causes fights between loved ones. Its just plain dangerous.

I never thought a color could have this kind of effect, but looks like it can…at least green can.

It comes in different shades: insecurity, envy, jealousy (not the good, meaning zealous kind), low self-esteem, and the like. All things that mask the masterpiece God created, that cover validation by God, that hide the beauty that is me (and you). It makes us feel discontent with ourselves and long for what another has (“beauty,” body, things, etc). It makes us feel like we’re not pretty enough, we’re not smart enough, or we’ll never be good enough.  And it convinces us that devoting ourselves solely to appearances and accomplishments will get us noticed.

But…

  • I am a child of God fully accepted by the Father.    (John 1:12; Ephesians 1:6)
  • God loves me regardless of how I perform and His love toward me never runs out.    (Jeremiah 31:3)
  • I am set in the Body of Christ and I know that I am valuable and significant to the work of God and His plan in the earth.    (I Corinthians 12:20-25; Ephesians 4:11,12)
  • I am a Master’s piece.  (Ephesians 2:10)
  • I am made from the best stuff on Earth.  (Genesis 1:27)

A true inspirashion is a child of God who knows her worth, knows that there is no other her in this world, and knows there is no need to be envious or insecure. She walks confidently, not because of her new pumps, but because God thinks she’s to die for.

So, I shall never wear green another day in my life, will you join me?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note: I have no beef with the actually color green, its quite beautiful in its many shades, I’m just taking a stand against the figurative color green, envy, and all its diminutives.

Confessions from Living Word Christian Center

Leave a Reply

