My First Attempt

As always, I awaited 11:59 p.m. last Thursday evening. For those of you who don’t know, that’s payday. That’s when the direct deposit hits my bank account at the speed of light and it departs just as quickly. Well most weeks I can manage to save some money and spend wisely, but yesterday was a TOTAL bust.

Not quite sure where to begin. I guess the beginning is as good a place as any…

It was late afternoon Wednesday. I had no finals for the day and I was extremely excited. The roommate tried to convince not to go to work, but no amount of words were persuasive enough to keep me from another 11:59 Thursday evening. So after a shower, girl talk, and a quick breakfast, I headed to work.

I watched the clock constantly, sort of like the ticktockman in Ellison’s “Repent Harlequin.” 2 hours and thirty minutes could not pass quickly enough. I normally liked work, but this day was torture for me.

See, I’d been bugging my roommate all week and it was the day. She’d promise to be some what of a chauffeur and shopping budding, she had to get a graduation dress. The plan was to leave at 2:30 p.m. and head out to peruse our neighboring town. Work was just another hurdle on my track to my dream wardrobe. I hadn’t had an opportunity to go “real” shopping (as opposed to the “fake” online shopping) since beginning this venture, so needless to say I was excited. The clock struck 2:15 and I was out that office door. I ran home to meet the roommate who soon became my next hurdle, wasting precious shopping time on homework (how dare she).

Equipped with a mental list of the items and characteristics of my dream wardrobe, we hit the road so I could hit the racks. First stop? Forever 21.

Yes. I got sucked in. Sucked into every fast fashion store and ended up buying things that i absolutely did NOT need. I told myself I wouldn’t do it. I told myself NOT to do it, but like a bad drug Ms. Russe, Ms. 21, and Ms. Seal managed to get me once again. I was on a high. I was finding things that looked cute and they were cheap. This was absolutely NOT the plan. But they got me again.

All wasn’t lost though. I bought a blouse, that was on the list right?


Leave a Reply

